Private Cask -
Your whisky cask

Here you can find out how we accompany you to the Cask-Owner in only 6 steps.
Secure your own piece of German whisky history!

Buy your own whisky cask

Your personal St. Kilian Whisky - this is a 30-litre cask specially made by our cooper from the wood, the prefilling and the recipe of your choice. Whether mild or smoky, sweet-vanilla or fruity-spicy - you decide how your whisky should taste.

In the small oak casks the whisky develops a full-bodied aroma after only three years of maturing - and is ready for bottling in our pot still bottle (0.5 litre). One cask results in about 50 bottles of your whisky - individually labelled by hand, of course.

Whether as a special gift for friends or colleagues, for extraordinary occasions or simply for yourself: We make it possible for you to have your own Private Cask.

Your Private Cask in 6 steps

From the construction of the barrel to the label - we have thought of everything.
This is the path of your Private Cask:

Build your Private Cask

1. building your Private Cask

Every year we produce a limited number of customer drums. The small Private Casks are rebuilt at great expense by a cooper from well-deserved large barrels in which bourbon or sherry, for example, were previously stored.

Private Cask 1

2. selection of your barrel

How do you want your whisky to taste? Depending on this, you select an available cask type in which your single malt should mature. You can choose between Virgin Oak Casks (American white oak or European oak), Bourbon Casks and Sherry Casks.

Private Cask 2

3. filling your barrel

In your cask we fill 30 litres of our smoky or mild distillate, directly from our Scottish copper stills - with an ideal 63.5 percent alcohol content by volume for the perfect maturation of the whisky.

Private Cask 3

4. three years maturation period

In our cask storage your Private Cask matures in three years to real single malt whisky. A part of the spirit evaporates in the process - the so-called "Angels' Share". By the way: once a year you can visit your cask during this time in our distillery.

Private Cask 4

5. bottling and labelling

Finally it's time: Your whisky comes in the bottle - in cask strength and with an individual label. A Private Cask results in around 50 bottles - depending on the exact filling quantity and evaporation during the maturing process.

Private Cask 5

6. your Private Cask is ready

Bottled and labelled, your own whisky is ready - for personal collection or shipping.

THIS IS INCLUDED IN THE PRIVATE-CASK PACKAGE

The price of a Private Cask depends on the type of barrel, recipe and exact filling quantity and ranges between 2,000 and 2,600 euros.
This is included in the Private Cask package:

  • Barrel
  • distillate (mild or smoky recipe)
  • Storage in our warehouse
  • Drum label with individual dedication
  • Bottle filling in barrel strength (approx. 50 bottles of 0.5 litres each)
  • High quality labelling
  • All applicable taxes (VAT and alcohol tax)
  • Insurance of the barrel

By the way: barrel owners are welcome to visit us and their
barrel in Rüdenau

Frequently asked questions

What types of casks and recipes are available for Private Cask?

We offer every type of barrel with our mild or peaty recipe. Our peat malt is produced in the Highlands of Scotland and is transported to Germany with a corresponding additional expenditure, therefore the price for the peaty recipe is somewhat higher.

Do I have to pay taxes for Private Cask?

Not with us - after receipt of the signed order we will send you the invoice. The price includes all applicable taxes (VAT and AlkSt.) After receipt of payment the barrel certificate will be created and sent to you by post.

May I visit my whisky cask?

Of course, you may visit your barrel during the storage period at appropriate intervals and taste a sample. Please make an appointment in advance.

How does the maturing process take place?

The maturation of the distillate in our individual 30-litre private casks is significantly faster (approx. factor 3x) than in standard barrels (e.g. 190 litres). This is due to a more favourable surface to volume ratio, which is exponentially larger than in large casks.

How is the filling process carried out?

After the individual storage time we fill your Private Cask unfiltered and in barrel strength in bottles (0.5 l - approx. 50 pieces (depending on storage time and filling quantity). Filling and labelling is also included in the price. A refilling and renewed storage of your cask is possible on request.

What is the capacity of the whisky cask?

The Private Casks of St. Kilian are rebuilt at great expense from large barrels in the cooperage and are not calibrated. For this reason, each barrel has a different filling quantity (approx. 30 litres +/- 10%) and the prices of the individual barrels vary accordingly.

How is my whisky cask stored? Is it insured?

Your barrel is stored in our customer barrel warehouse in Rüdenau. The 3-year storage including insurance is included in the purchase price. Longer storage periods are possible on request and for an additional charge.

What are the alcohol strength and Angels Share?

We fill the customer barrels with our distillate with approx. 63.5% vol. alcohol. Various criteria, e.g. the type of barrel or the climate, influence the evaporation during storage. During storage, the alcohol content of the whisky slowly decreases. The evaporated alcohol is called Angels ́ Share. This amounts to a few percent per year, but cannot be exactly determined in advance due to the individuality of a cask. The alcohol strength also decreases during storage by a few percent to i.e. just under 60 vol %.

Can I store my whisky cask at home?

You have a nice bar, a wine cellar or a suitable storage room at home and would like to place your barrel there and let it mature? We would be happy to make this possible. We provide your barrel with a wooden stand and tap and grant you a storage discount on the price when you purchase it.

Arrange a visit

You are interested in a Private Cask and would like to know more? Then make an appointment with us right away.
On site at the distillery or online we will advise you personally about your whisky.

Non-binding inquiry

Private Cask –
Ihr Whiskyfass

Hier erfahren Sie, wie wir Sie in nur 6 Schritten zum Cask-Owner begleiten.
Sichern Sie sich Ihr eigenes Stück deutscher Whisky-Geschichte!

Ein eigenes Whiskyfass kaufen

Ihr persönlicher St. Kilian Whisky – das ist ein extra von unserem Küfer angefertiges 30-Liter-Fass aus dem Holz, der Vorbefüllung und der Rezeptur Ihrer Wahl. Ob mild oder rauchig, süß-vanillig oder fruchtig-würzig – Sie entscheiden selbst, wie Ihr Whisky schmecken soll.

In den kleinen Eichenfässern entwickelt der Whisky schon nach drei Jahren Reifezeit ein ausgewachsenes Aroma – und ist bereit für die Abfüllung in unsere Pot-Still-Flasche (0,5 Liter). Ein Fass ergibt rund 50 Flaschen Ihres Whiskys – natürlich per Hand individuell etikettiert.

Ob als besonderes Geschenk für Freunde oder Kollegen, für außergewöhnliche Anlässe oder einfach für Sie selbst: Wir ermöglichen Ihnen ein eigenes Private Cask.

Ihr Private Cask in 6 Schritten

Vom Bau des Fasses bis zum Etikett – Wir haben an alles gedacht.
Das ist der Weg Ihres Private Cask:

Bau deines Private Cask

1. Bau Ihres Private Cask

Jedes Jahr stellen wir eine limitierte Zahl von Kundenfässern her. Die kleinen Private Casks lassen wir mit hohem Aufwand durch einen Küfer aus wohlverdienten großen Fässern zurückbauen, in denen vorher z. B. Bourbon oder Sherry lagerte.

Private Cask 1

2. Auswahl Ihres Fasses

Wie soll Ihr Whisky schmecken? Davon abhängig wählen Sie einen verfügbaren Fasstyp aus, in dem Ihr Single Malt reifen soll. Zur Wahl stehen Virgin Oak Casks (amerikanische Weißeiche oder europäische Eiche), Bourbon- und Sherry Casks.

Private Cask 2

3. Befüllung Ihres Fasses

In Ihr Fass füllen wir 30 Liter von unserem rauchigen oder milden Destillat, direkt aus unseren schottischen Kupferbrennblasen – mit idealen 63,5 Volumenprozent Alkoholgehalt für die perfekte Reifung des Whiskys.

Private Cask 3

4. Drei Jahre Reifezeit

In unserem Fasslager reift Ihr Private Cask in drei Jahren zu echtem Single Malt Whisky. Ein Teil des Spirits verdunstet dabei – der sogenannte „Angels‘ Share“. Übrigens: Einmal im Jahr können Sie Ihr Fass in dieser Zeit bei uns in der Destillerie besuchen.

Private Cask 4

5. Bottling und Etikettierung

Endlich ist es soweit: Ihr Whisky kommt in die Flasche – in Fassstärke und mit einem individuellen Etikett. Ein Private Cask ergibt rund 50 Flaschen – abhängig von exakter Füllmenge und Verdunstung während der Reifung.

Private Cask 5

6. Ihr Private Cask ist fertig

Abgefüllt und etikettiert ist Ihr eigener Whisky bereit – für die persönliche Abholung oder den Versand.

DAS IST IM PRIVATE-CASK-PAKET ENTHALTEN

Der Preis eines Private Casks hängt von Fass-Typ, Rezeptur und exakter Füllmenge ab und bewegt sich zwischen 2.000 und 2.600 Euro.
Das ist im Private-Cask-Paket enthalten:

  • Fass
  • Destillat (milde oder rauchige Rezeptur)
  • Lagerung in unserem Warehouse
  • Fassschild mit individueller Widmung
  • Flaschenabfüllung in Fassstärke (ca. 50 Flaschen à 0,5 Liter)
  • Hochwertige Etikettierung
  • Alle anfallenden Steuern (Mehrwertsteuer und Alkoholsteuer)
  • Versicherung des Fasses

Übrigens: Fassbesitzer können uns und ihr
Fass gerne in Rüdenau besuchen

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Welche Fassarten und Rezepturen gibt es für das Private Cask?

Jede Fassart bieten wir mit unserer milden oder torfigen Rezeptur an. Unser Torfmalz wird in den Highlands von Schottland hergestellt und mit entsprechendem Mehraufwand nach Deutschland transportiert, folglich liegt der Preis für die torfige Rezeptur etwas höher.

Muss ich Steuern für das Private Cask zahlen?

Bei uns nicht – nach Eingang der unterschriebenen Bestellung senden wir Ihnen die Rechnung. Im Preis enthalten sind alle anfallenden Steuern (MwSt. und AlkSt.) Nach Zahlungseingang wird das Fass-Zertifikat erstellt und per Post an Sie geschickt.

Darf ich mein Whiskyfass besuchen?

Selbstverständlich dürfen Sie Ihr Fass während der Lagerzeit in zeitlich angemessenen Abständen besuchen und dabei eine Probe verkosten. Bitte vereinbaren Sie hierfür vorab einen Termin.

Wie erfolgt die Reifung?

Die Reifung des Destillats in unseren individuellen 30-Liter Private Casks erfolgt bedeutend schneller (ca. Faktor 3x) als in Standardfässern (z.B. 190 Liter). Dies ist zurückzuführen auf ein günstigeres Verhältnis von Oberfläche zu Volumen, die exponentiell größer ist als bei großen Fässern.

Wie erfolgt die ABfüllung?

Nach der individuellen Lagerzeit füllen wir Ihr Private Cask ungefiltert und in Fassstärke in Flaschen (0,5 l – ca. 50 Stück (je nach Lagerdauer und Füllmenge). Die Abfüllung und Etikettierung ist ebenfalls im Preis enthalten. Eine Wiederbefüllung und erneute Einlagerung Ihres Fasses ist auf Anfrage möglich.

Wie hoch ist die Füllmenge vom Whiskyfass?

Die Private Casks von St. Kilian werden mit hohem Aufwand aus großen Fässern in der Küfnerei zurück gebaut und sind nicht geeicht. Aus diesem Grund hat jedes Fass eine andere Füllmenge (ca. 30 Liter +/- 10%) und entsprechend unterschiedlich sind die Preise der einzelnen Fässer.

Wie wird mein Whiskyfass gelagert? ist es versichert?

Ihr Fass wird in unserem Kundenfasslager in Rüdenau gelagert. Die 3-jährige Lagerung inklusive Versicherung ist im Kaufpreis enthalten. Längere Lagerzeiten sind auf Anfrage und gegen Aufpreis möglich.

Wie hoch sind Alkoholstärke und Angels Share?

Die Kundenfässer befüllen wir mit unserem Destillat mit ca. 63,5% vol. Alkohol. Verschiedene Kriterien, z.B. die Fassart oder das Klima, beeinflussen die Verdunstung während der Lagerung. Während der Lagerung nimmt die Alkoholmenge des Whiskys langsam ab. Der verdunstete Anteil Alkohol wird als Angels ́ Share (engl. für: Anteil der Engel) bezeichnet. Dieser beträgt pro Jahr einige Prozente, kann aber aufgrund der Individualität eines Fasses vorab nicht genau ermittelt werden. Auch die Alkoholstärke sinkt bei der Lagerung um einige Prozent auf i.d.. knapp unter 60 vol %.

Kann ich mein Whisyfass zuhause lagern?

Sie haben zuhause eine schöne Bar, einen Weinkeller oder einen geeigneten Lagerraum und möchten Ihr Fass dort aufstellen und reifen lassen? Das machen wir gerne möglich. Wir versehen Ihr Fass mit einem Holzständer und Zapfhahn und gewähren Ihnen beim Erwerb einen Lagerdiscount beim Preis.

Besuch vereinbaren

Sie interessieren sich für ein Private Cask und möchten mehr erfahren? Dann vereinbaren Sie gleich einen Termin mit uns.
Vor Ort in der Destillerie oder online beraten wir Sie persönlich zu Ihrem Whisky.

Unverbindlich anfragen