Whisky Sour Recipe

From the St. Kilian "classic whisky cocktails" series

How do you make whisky sours?

You want to prepare the absolute classic of the whisky scene? Here we show you how to prepare a whisky sour . The St. Kilian variant as well as the Classic preparation according to C. Schumann.

You need the following ingredients for the St. Kilian variant "White Dog Sour":

  • 5 cl St. Kilian White Dog (drinking strength)
  • 2 cl freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 cl cane sugar syrup
  • 1 cl fresh egg white

Preparation of the White Dog Sours:

Put all the ingredients in a shaker and shake vigorously.

Then strain the contents through a cocktail strainer into a tumbler over fresh ice and garnish the drink with fresh lime zest .

Do you know a bar that doesn't have a whiskey sour on its menu? We haven't come across one yet. It belongs in a bar like the bar or the ice cream. And if it's not on the menu, there's no bartender who can't prepare it.

Show us your whisky sours!

Because it is simply present in every bar and yet is prepared a little differently everywhere, the whiskey sour says a lot about a bar's own standards and definition. Is it elaborately mixed with a nice egg white foam and a high-quality bourbon or even single malt whisky, or is the simple mix of standard bourbon, lime and sugar enough? All these points make the Whisky Sour the ideal reference drink.

But this inevitably leads us to the question:

What is the perfect whisky sour?

The best way to do this is to look into the cocktail's past to see how the drink got its start. Because its forefather is probably one of the most famous bartenders of all time. Jerry Thomas. The author of the most famous and original bar manual, he originally came to California in the 19th century as a prospector before deciding that the arduous search for gold was not for him and so swapped mine for bar. It was he who coined the term sour cocktail. But first with a brandy sour.

A creation of the whisky cocktail came a little closer to today's icon. Here he combined gomme syrup, bitters, whiskey and lemon. The whole thing was prepared in a shaker and then served straight up - without ice. Probably one of the first forms of the whiskey sour.

The whisky SOur: an icon through the ages

The end of the 19th century is also known as the golden age of cocktails . The most diverse variations of the whisky sour emerge.

The author William Schmidt describes his preparation in his book "Beach Flowing Bowl" with half a lime or lemon, straight up and some sugar dissolved in seltzer water. In Louis Muckensturm 's book "Louis mixed Drinks", he prepares the whiskey sour with half a lemon, a teaspoon of sugar and rye whiskey. Recipes with soda water or even without the addition of sugar also found their connoisseurs at this time.

"Today, the whisky sour has established itself as a real classic."

We have taken how this is prepared from the book by the German bar pope Charles Schuhmann:

WHISKY SOUR (after C. Schuhmann, American Bar, 1991)

You need for the preparation:

  • 4 cl bourbon whiskey
  • 2 cl freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 bar spoon icing sugar
  • 1 c cane sugar syrup

The whole thing is shaken vigorously with ice cubes and then strained into a tumbler. Schuhmann uses a stem cherry as decoration.

But of course we have our very own variation of the whiskey sour. But our variation should not yet be called whiskey.

Whisky Sour

Aus der St. Kilian Serie „klassische Whisky-Cocktails“

Unsere St. Kilian Whisky Sour Variante

Ihr braucht für unseren White Dog Sour folgende Zutaten:

  • 5 cl St. Kilian White Dog (in Trinkstärke)
  • 2 cl frisch gepresster Limettensaft
  • 2 cl Rohrzuckersirup
  • 1 cl frisches Eiweiß

Zubereitung des White Dog Sours:

Alle Zutaten werden in einen Shaker gegeben und kräftig geschüttelt.

Anschließend wird der Inhalt durch ein Cocktailsieb in einen Tumbler auf frisches Eis abgeseiht und der Drink mit frischem Limettenabrieb garniert.

Kennt Ihr eine Bar, die keinen Whiskey Sour auf Ihrer Karte führt? Uns ist noch keine untergekommen. Er gehört in eine Bar wie der Tresen oder das Eis. Und sollte er mal nicht auf der Karte stehen, gibt es doch keinen Bartender, der Ihn nicht zuzubereiten vermag.

Zeigt her euren Whisky Sour!

Weil er einfach in jeder Bar präsent ist und dennoch überall ein klein wenig anders zubereitet wird, sagt der Whiskey Sour viel über den eigenen Anspruch und die eigene Definition einer Bar aus. Wird er aufwändig mit einem schönen Eiweißschaum und einem hochwertigen Bourbon oder gar Single Malt Whisky gemixt, oder reicht der simple Mix aus Standard-Bourbon, Limette und Zucker? All diese Punkte machen den Whisky Sour zum idealen Referenzdrink.

Das führt uns aber unweigerlich zu der Frage:

Was ist eigentlich der perfekte Whisky Sour?

Dazu lässt sich am besten in die Vergangenheit des Cocktails schauen, um zu sehen wie der Drink seinen Anfang nahm. Denn sein Urvater ist wohl einer der bekanntesten Bartender aller Zeiten. Jerry Thomas. Der Autor des bekanntesten und urspünglichsten Bar-Handbuchs, kam ursprünglich im 19. Jahrhundert als Goldsucher nach Kalifornien, bevor er beschloss, dass die beschwerliche Goldsuche nichts für Ihn sei und so Mine gegen Tresen eintauschte. Er war es, der den Begriff der Sour Cocktails prägte. Allerdings zunächst mit einem Brandy Sour.

Eine Kreation des Whisky Cocktails kam der heutigen Ikone schon etwas näher. Hier kombinierte er Gomme Sirup, Bitters, Whiskey und Zitrone. Das Ganze wurde im Shaker zubereitet und anschließend straight up – also ohne Eis serviert. Vermutlich eine der ersten Formen des Whiskey Sour.

Der Whisky SOur: Eine Ikone im Wandel der Zeit

Das Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wird auch als das goldene Zeitalter der Cocktails bezeichnet. Die verschiedensten Variationen des Whisky Sour entstehen.

Der Autor William Schmidt beschreibt seine Zubereitung in seinem Buch „Beach Flowing Bowl“ mit einer halben Limette oder Zitrone, straight up und etwas Zucker, welcher in Selters Wasser gelöst wurde. Bei Louis Muckensturm in „Louis mixed Drinks“ bereitet er den Whiskey Sour mit einer halben Zitrone, einem Teelöffel Zucker und Rye Whiskey zu. Auch Rezepte mit Soda Wasser oder gar ohne den Zusatz von Zucker fanden zu dieser Zeit Ihre Genießer.

„Heute hat sich der Whisky Sour zum echten Klassiker etabliert.“

Wie dieser zubereitet wird, haben wir dem Buch des deutschen Bar-Papstes Charles Schuhmann entnommen:

WHISKY SOUR (nach C. Schuhmann, American Bar, 1991)

Ihr benötigt für die Zubereitung:

  • 4 cl Bourbon Whiskey
  • 2 cl frisch gepressten Zitronensaft
  • 1 Barlöffel Puderzucker
  • 1 c Rohrzuckersirup

Das Ganze wird kräftig mit Eiswürfeln geschüttelt und anschließend in einen Tumbler abgeseiht. Als Dekoration verwendet Schuhmann eine Stielkirsche.

Aber natürlich haben wir unsere ganz eigene Variation des Whiskey Sour. Wobei man bei unserer Variante noch nicht von Whisky sprechen sollte.

Produkt zum Warenkorb hinzugefügt!
0 Artikel - 0,00