Five virgins - Signature Edition Five

The new single malt from St. Kilian - for the Day of German Whisky on 27.6.20

WITH THE SIGNATURE EDITION FIVE FROM ST. KILIAN FIVE DIFFERENT OAK BARRELS PLAY THE LEADING ROLE

The St. Kilian Signature Edition FIVE matured over 3 years in 5 different virgin-fresh oak barrels to a masterly composition. Soft, round aromas and a mild taste of finely spiced oak convey the feeling of a refreshing walk in the woods.

The melange of 5 different destinations of the oak barrels, from Hungary via Germany to America, invites you to an aromatic foray.

Since the launch of St. Kilian in 2016, the distillery has been extremely experimental and has been tinkering with a standard whisky with great enthusiasm and the support of countless loyal fans. Already during the 'Spirit of St. Kilian' Batch 1-7 series, lots of valuable feedback came in. At that time, the 'Batch 2', matured in ex-American White Oak and European Oak casks, was very well received. Now, the distillery from Rüdenau wants to reinforce this theme once again and has let 5 "Virgins" have their say in its latest release, the St. Kilian Signature Edition FIVE.

FULLY MATURED IN 5 DIFFERENT VIRGIN OAK BARRELS

Five different Virgin Oaks characterise this limited bottling, which will be released on 27 June 2020, German Whisky Day. Do these "FIVE Virgins" have what it takes to set the tone for a future standard whisky from St. Kilian? The verdict of the experts and the fan community is awaited with great anticipation in Rüdenau.

White oak trunks
Impressive trunks of the American white oak

ST. KILIAN VISITS KENTUCKY, USA

The St. Kilian team visited a large barrel manufacturer in Kentucky a few years ago to get a personal impression of how much work goes into the production and wood selection of first-class barrels. One of the five "virgins" at FIVE today is American white oak.

ISCO Trip to Kentucky
Udo Käsmann and Master Distiller Mario Rudolf joined the trip to ISCO (International Stave Company).

Here is the video of the trip to Kentucky - to be found on the St. Kilian YouTube channel. By the way, there is much more to discover there:

St. Kilian Distillers on Tour in the USA: ISCO Industries Kentucky

COMPOSITION OF THE 5 VIRGIN OAKS

When combining the different oak barrels, the Master Distiller, Mario Rudolf, did a lot of "fine-tuning" and showed a lot of tact. The European oak barrel, for example, was built as a 190 l barrel in the style of the American barrel and is something unique and absolutely worth a mention. The "Five" is made up of these barrels and barrel sizes :

Five Virgins - Signature Edition Five 1

FINELY SPICED VANILLA AND FRUIT AROMAS

After its two smoky predecessors, the new single malt is once again a mild whisky that has a spicy and very aromatic note with its 52.5% alcohol content.
It was distilled between October 2016 and April 2017 and bottled in St. Kilian's original pot-still bottles in April 2020 in a limited edition of just under 6,000 bottles.

TASTING NOTES

OUTLOOKDark oak
SMELLDark, fully ripe cherries and cedar wood
TASTESweet fruity notes, fine oak aroma followed by a spicy herbal note and a hint of ginger.
NACHKLANGSpicy, long-lasting and with a fine sweetness - delicate and complex.

AVAILABLE FROM 27 JUNE 2020

The single malt whisky "Signature Edition FIVE" will be available from 27 June 2020 for €39.90 (0.5 litre in the original pot-still bottle) in the St. Kilian online shop and in specialist shops.
It can be pre-ordered from 16 June, so you can already secure your personal copy now.

ABOUT ST. KILIAN DISTILLERS

St. Kilian makes single malt whisky - made in Germany and inspired by whisky cultures from all over the world. Here, pure barley malt meets original Scottish pot stills - and decades of whisky know-how meets German engineering.

The whisky distillery of St. Kilian Distillers is located just an hour's drive from Frankfurt am Main on the outskirts of Rüdenau in Lower Franconia and very close to the worthwhile excursion destination of Miltenberg am Main.

Five virgins -- Signature Edition Five

Der neue Single Malt von St. Kilian -- zum Tag des deutschen Whiskys am 27.6.20

BEI DER SIGNATURE EDITION FIVE VON ST. KILIAN SPIELEN FÜNF VERSCHIEDENE EICHENFÄSSER DIE HAUPTROLLE

Die St. Kilian Signature Edition FIVE reifte über 3 Jahre in 5 verschiedenen jungfräulich-frischen Eichenfässern zu einer meisterlichen Komposition heran. Weiche, runde Aromen und ein milder Geschmack von feinwürziger Eiche vermitteln das Gefühl eines erfrischenden Waldspaziergangs.

Die Melange aus 5 verschiedenen Destinationen der Eichenfässer, von Ungarn über Deutschland nach Amerika lädt ein zu einem aromatischen Streifzug.

Seit dem Start von St. Kilian im Jahr 2016 ist die Destille extrem experimentierfreudig und tüftelt mit großer Begeisterung und der Unterstützung unzähliger treuer Fans an einem Standard Whisky. Schon während der ‚Spirit of St. Kilian‘ Batch 1-7 Serie kam jede Menge wertvolles Feedback. Damals kam der „Batch 2“, gereift in ex-American White Oak und European Oak-Fässern sehr gut an. Nun möchte die Destille aus Rüdenau dieses Thema noch einmal verstärken und hat bei ihrem neuesten Release, der St. Kilian Signature Edition FIVE gleich 5 „Virgins“ zu Wort kommen lassen.

VOLLREIFUNG IN 5 VERSCHIEDENEN VIRGIN OAK FÄSSERN

Fünf verschiedene Virgin Oaks prägen diese limitierte Abfüllung, die am 27. Juni 2020, am Tag des deutschen Whiskys, erscheint. Haben diese „FIVE Virgins“ das Zeug dazu, die Richtung für einen späteren Standardwhisky von St. Kilian vorzugeben? Dem Urteil der Experten und der Fangemeinde sieht man in Rüdenau mit großer Spannung entgegen.

Stämme der Weiß-Eiche
Beeindruckende Stämme der amerikanischen Weiß-Eiche

ST. KILIAN ZU BESUCH IN KENTUCKY, USA

Das Team von St. Kilian besuchte vor einigen Jahren eigens einen großen Fass-Hersteller in Kentucky, um sich einen persönlichen Eindruck zu verschaffen, wieviel Arbeit in der Produktion und der Holzauswahl von erstklassigen Fässern steckt. Eine der fünf „Jungfrauen“ beim FIVE ist heute die amerikanische Weiß-Eiche.

ISCO Trip nach Kentucky
Mit dabei beim Trip zur ISCO (International Stave Company) war Udo Käsmann und der Master Distiller Mario Rudolf

Hier das Video vom Trip nach Kentucky – zu finden auf dem St. Kilian YouTube-Channel. Dort gibt es übrigens noch viel mehr zu entdecken:

St. Kilian Distillers on Tour in den USA: ISCO Industries Kentucky

ZUSAMMENSETZUNG DER 5 VIRGIN OAKS

Bei der Kombination der verschiedenen Eichenfässer hat der Master Distiller, Mario Rudolf sehr viel „Finetuning“ betrieben und viel Fingerspitzengefühl bewiesen. Das europäische Eichefass zum Beispiel wurde als 190 l-Fass im Stil des American Barrels gebaut und ist etwas Einzigartiges und absolut eine Erwähnung wert. Aus diesen Fässern und Fassgrößen setzt sich der „Five“ zusammen:

Five Virgins - Signature Edition Five 2

FEINWÜRZIGE VANILLE- UND FRUCHTAROMEN

Der neue Single Malt ist nach seinen beiden rauchigen Vorgängern wieder ein milder Whisky, der mit seinen 52,5 % Alkoholgehalt eine würzige und sehr aromatische Note aufweist.
Destilliert wurde er zwischen Oktober 2016 und April 2017 und abgefüllt in die original Pot-Still Flaschen von St. Kilian im April 2020 in einer limitierten Flaschenmenge von knapp 6.000 Stück.

TASTING NOTES

AUSSEHENDunkle Eiche
GERUCHDunkle, vollreife Kirschen und Zedernholz
GESCHMACKSüße Fruchtnoten, feines Eichenaroma gefolgt von einer würzigen Kräuternote und einem Hauch Ingwer
NACHKLANGWürzig, langanhaltend und mit einer feinen Süße -- delikat und komplex

AB 27. JUNI 2020 VERFÜGBAR

Der Single Malt Whisky „Signature Edition FIVE“ ist ab 27. Juni 2020 für 39,90 € (0,5 Liter in der original Pot-Still-Flasche) im St. Kilian Online-Shop sowie im Fachhandel erhältlich.
Ab 16. Juni kann er vorbestellt werden, so dass man sich sein persönliches Exemplar bereits jetzt sichern kann.

ÜBER ST. KILIAN DISTILLERS

St. Kilian macht Single Malt Whisky – Made in Germany und inspiriert von Whiskykulturen aus aller Welt. Hier trifft reines Gerstenmalz auf original schottische Pot-Still-Brennblasen – und jahrzehntelanges Whisky-Know-how auf deutsche Ingenieurskunst.

Die Whisky-Destillerie der St. Kilian Distillers liegt nur eine Autostunde von Frankfurt am Main entfernt am Rande von Rüdenau in Unterfranken und ganz in der Nähe vom lohnenswerten Ausflugsziel Miltenberg am Main.