The St. Kilian X- Series 1

St. Kilian The Early Days -
Trial run 2015

The foundation stone for St. Kilian

Founded in 2012, the four-year planning and construction phase for the largest whisky distillery in Germany began before the first own wash was distilled on 17 March, St. Patrick's Day 2016. For this distillate, a cask was to be created that would still stand out from thousands of casks decades later. For this purpose, the cooperage Wilhelm Eder in Bad Dürkheim was commissioned to produce a barrel that would be both distinctive and unique through the triad of high-quality wood, the largest possible capacity and perfect workmanship. According to these specifications and with a great deal of craftsmanship, the traditional Palatinate barrel makers made the 700-litre barrel no. 1 from the wood of a Johanniskreuz oak.

For our special bottling of St. Kilian cask no. 1 "First Cut", limited to 760 bottles, 70% of the cask content was removed after 5 years and refilled with new single malt spirit (New Make). For another special bottling of cask no. 1, this procedure is repeated, thus enabling a solera process that will always carry the soul of the first pure St. Kilian distillate.

Barrel No. 1 marks the beginning of St. Kilian, but even before that there were two distillations to test the plant.

First test run in August 2015

The first test run took place on 28.08.2015. Here, unpeated single malt spirit (New Make) from the Swedish distillery Mackmyra was first diluted and then distilled a second time on St. Kilian's Spirit Still. The two distilleries are closely linked not only through the friendship of St. Kilian founder Andreas Thümmler with the Swedish distillery team, but also through the training of Master Distiller Mario Rudolf at Mackmyra.

The triple distilled New Make was then filled into 5 casks on 13.11.2015 at 54 % vol:

Casks X01X and X02X: 190l - Bourbon Barrel - USA - Old Forrester Distilling Co.

Casks X03X, X04X and X05X: 50l - Bourbon Quarter Cask - USA - Garrison Brothers Distillery

With this first cask filling, THE EARLY DAYS MACKMYRA X ST. KILIAN bottling was created: Distillates from the distillery's trial runs, which could be created thanks to an excellent collaboration.

Second test run in November 2015

After testing the Spirit Still in August 2015, both stills were tested on 17 and 18 November 2015. A beer was brewed according to precise specifications at Mario Rudolf's former employer, the Ketterer brewery in Pforzheim, and delivered to Rüdenau.

The total 438lA New Make of the successful trial was filled into 7 casks on 10/03/2016 at 65.84% vol:

Casks X06X and X07X: 190l - Bourbon Barrel - USA - Old Forrester Distilling Co.

Casks X08X, X09X, X10X, X11X and X12X: 50l - Bourbon Quarter Cask - USA - Garrison Brothers Distillery

After the two successful trial runs, production at St. Kilian was able to start shortly afterwards, so that the first pure St. Kilian New Make flowed out of the Spirit Safe just in time for St. Patrick's Day, 17 March 2016.

Die St. Kilian X- Serie 1

St. Kilian The Early Days –
Probelauf 2015

Der Grundstein für St. Kilian

Gegründet 2012 begann die vierjährige Planungs- und Bauphase zur größten Whiskydestillerie Deutschlands, bevor am 17. März, dem St. Patrick’s Day 2016 die erste eigene Wash destilliert wurde. Für dieses Destillat sollte ein Fass geschaffen werden, welches noch nach Jahrzehnten aus tausenden Fässern hervorsticht. Zu diesem Zweck wurde die Bad Dürkheimer Küferei Wilhelm Eder beauftragt ein Fass zu fertigen, das durch den Dreiklang von hochwertigem Holz, größtmöglichem Fassungsvermögen und perfekter Verarbeitung zugleich unverwechselbar und einzigartig werden sollte. Nach diesen Vorgaben und mit viel handwerklichem Geschick küferten die Pfälzer Traditionsfassmacher aus dem Holz einer Johanniskreuz-Eiche, das 700Liter umfassende Fass Nr. 1.

Für unsere, auf 760 Flaschen limitierte, Sonderabfüllung St. Kilian Fass Nr. 1 „First Cut“ wurden 70% des Fassinhalts nach 5 Jahren entnommen und wieder mit neuen Single Malt Spirit (New Make) aufgefüllt. Bei einer erneuten Sonderabfüllung der Fass Nr. 1 wird dieses Vorgehen wiederholt und ermöglicht so ein Solera-Verfahren, welches immer die Seele des ersten reinen St. Kilian Destillats tragen wird.

Fass Nr. 1 markiert den Beginn von St. Kilian, doch bereits davor gab es zur Erprobung der Anlage zwei Destillationen.

Erster Testlauf im August 2015

Der erste Probelauf fand am 28.08.2015 statt. Hierbei wurde ungetorfter Single Malt Spirit (New Make) der schwedischen Destillerie Mackmyra zunächst verdünnt und dann ein weiteres Mal auf der Spirit Still von St. Kilian destilliert. Die beiden Destillerien sind nicht nur durch die Freundschaft von St. Kilian Gründer Andreas Thümmler zum schwedischen Destillerie-Team, sondern auch durch die Ausbildung von Master Distiller Mario Rudolf bei Mackmyra eng miteinander verbunden.

Der dreifach destillierte New Make wurde anschließend am 13.11.2015 mit 54 % vol. in 5 Fässer gefüllt:

Fässer X01X und X02X: 190l – Bourbon Barrel – USA – Old Forrester Distilling Co.

Fässer X03X, X04X und X05X: 50l – Bourbon Quarter Cask – USA – Garrison Brothers Distillery

Mit dieser ersten Fassbefüllung war die THE EARLY DAYS MACKMYRA X ST. KILIAN Abfüllung entstanden: Destillate aus den Probeläufen der Brennerei, welche dank einer hervorragenden Kollaboration entstehen konnte.

Zweiter Testlauf im November 2015

Nach dem Test der Spirit Still im August 2015 kam es am 17. und 18. November 2015 zu der Erprobung beider Stills. Hierbei wurde bei dem früheren Arbeitgeber von Mario Rudolf, der Brauerei Ketterer in Pforzheim, ein Bier nach genauen Vorgaben gebraut und nach Rüdenau geliefert.

Die insgesamt 438lA New Make der erfolgreichen Erprobung wurden am 10.03.2016 mit 65,84 % vol. in 7 Fässer gefüllt:

Fässer X06X und X07X: 190l – Bourbon Barrel – USA – Old Forrester Distilling Co.

Fässer X08X, X09X, X10X, X11X und X12X: 50l – Bourbon Quarter Cask – USA – Garrison Brothers Distillery

Nach den zwei erfolgreichen Erprobungsdurchläufen konnte kurze Zeit später die Produktion bei St. Kilian starten, so dass pünktlich zum St. Patrick’s Day, dem 17. März, 2016 der erste reine St. Kilian New Make aus dem Spirit Safe floss.